DIY / Wedding Mania

It’s So Fluffy DIY Pom Poms

image

Some time back I posted a whole slew of DIYs centered around pom poms and unfortunately I am just now finding a good use for them. Next year in April a friend of mine is tying the knot and seeing as she loves to crochet I thought it may be cool to incorporate the soft stuff into the big day. Hence why I figured I better start getting the hang of making them now because knowing me, I’m gonna wanna use a lot of these.

It’s unbelievably simple to do and I’m pretty sure that’s what makes them so addicting but, especially if you pick a beautiful color story, the end result is gorgeous. Even my husband commented on there cuteness. I’m sure that will change when he sees the rug…

Any who

Grab some coffee or wine or tea, check out the steps below and have your own pom pom making party this Sunday.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

As I said, they’re pretty easy to make. A few things to be aware of though.

– I found that the coarser yarn provides a fuller pom. The pale pink used in these pictures was Caron Simply Soft and although it was a gorgeous shade of pink, it’s silky soft hand made it easier to fall apart after tying off the center. If you do choose to go this route, make sure your knot is extremely secure and be gentle when fluffing out the pom. The neon pink and white ones were made from Red Heart.

– My poms were rather large since I wrapped the yarn around four fingers.  You can change the size by opting to wrap the yarn around less fingers.

image

image

– Fluffing the pom poms is the most important part of the process.  Because the knot in the center is the only thing holding the strands together it is essential to use a delicate hand when forming the shape. I found that a gentle shake and then, with the line of the center knot horizontal, doing a gentle twist with each end going in the opposite direction loosens up the strands allowing for a more rounded and full look. I also like to trim off any uneven strands for uniformity.

– Lastly the more times you wrap the pom around your fingers the fuller it will be but the tighter your center knot will need to be. The fuller the better and after making a few of these I don’t think a small dollop of fabric glue in the center of of it all would hurt.

One thought on “It’s So Fluffy DIY Pom Poms

  1. Pingback: Upcycled Glass Jar & Pom Pom Flowers - momhomeguide.com

Leave a Reply

